A Translation Story Just for Fun

Researchers who follow Genealogy for German Lutherans in Suwalki Province deal with languages, translations, and misinterpretations.

The following is a true story about translations:

After our four-day Family History Tour to 23 ancestral villages, I sent the following thank you to our tour guides, both the man I had contracted with and two of the local women guides he had contacted. Although I paid them in litas, the Lithuanian currency at that time, which they did not want to take, I wanted to give them something more personal.  Keeping in mind, the limitations of English among rural people, I wrote carefully in English.

Thank you for being a wonderful tour guide for my husband and me in Lithuania in July 2013. I made the coasters for you from pieces left over from quilts. The ball is Japanese and is called a temari ball. I made that for you also. We will never forget the kindness of the people we met. I hope to return to your country one day.

Using Google Translate, this is the note I sent, separate from the package.

This is the reply I received:

Google translation is confusing. However, I’m confused too because the word “coaster” according available dictionaries can be: 1. Type of ship 2. Person riding from the hill. 3. A tray for bottle. Also Google translated “quilt” as meaning for the blanket. For me it is pretty confusing… So tell me: what in this context is the coaster and is this coaster in a ball form?

So what did I send?

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is coasters-and-temari-balls.jpg

There are many lessons for researchers: among them have a sense of humor, never stop trying,

and be as clear as possible.

The next post will be the 9th Anniversary post for Genealogy for German Lutherans in Suwalki Province.

About suwalkigermans

I started family research in 1993. My first two books focused on my maternal grandparents. Both families came from Kreis Rosenberg, West Prussia, to Big Rapids, Michigan. I left the Spurgats from Wylkowiszki in the Russian Empire as the third book because of the difficult and challenging research it required. After I published the book in 2010, I wondered what to do next. I thought I might try to share some of my research with others and maybe at the same time, by going digital, someone would find me. When you read the comments, you will see that happened. The best part of all this is helping others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment