East Prussian Websites

DURING FEEFHS

Dr. Roger Minert has been training a new generation of professional genealogists. I have heard three of them within the last year and am very impressed with their professionalism, knowledge base, and especially the fact that all of their handouts start out with websites as their Tier I research strategy.

Careen Barrett-Valentine, AG, presented a two hour session on the German Research Strategies and Sources for Eastern Provinces and kindly gave me permission to share her East Prussia websites with my readers in a slightly changed format. Many of you are already familiar with these, but I felt you might find them valuable. I have had experience with some of them. If readers contact me through the comment section of this blog, I could collect information on how these sites have helped you and share them in future posts.

www.ostpreussen.net/ostpreussen/orte.php Ostpreussen.net “Places” (Click on map to interact)

http://www.ahnen-gesucht.de/ostpreussen “On the Trail of your Ancestors”

o Left of page
→”Landkreise und Kirchspiele”
→Hover over a number to see Kreis name
→Click number to see parish map of Kreis
→Hover over parish to see alternate names and year of founding

http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Ostpreußen/Kirchenbücher East Prussia Sources o You can find this by googling “ostpreussen kirchenbucher genealogy.net”
o Select a Kreis from alphabetical list left of map
→click on Kreis name
→For that Kreis, click on “Kirchenbuchbestände”
→select parish from alphabetical list left of map
→click on parish name

www.epaveldas.lt Lithuanian repository of digital information
o If there aren’t any surviving vital records for a town that is now in Lithuania, type in the name of the town on this website and go through everything you find. This stone is often left unturned.

About suwalkigermans

I started family research in 1993. My first two books focused on my maternal grandparents. Both families came from Kreis Rosenberg, West Prussia, to Big Rapids, Michigan. I left the Spurgats from Wylkowiszki in the Russian Empire as the third book because of the difficult and challenging research it required. After I published the book in 2010, I wondered what to do next. I thought I might try to share some of my research with others and maybe at the same time, by going digital, someone would find me. When you read the comments, you will see that happened. The best part of all this is helping others.
This entry was posted in East Prussia, FEEFHS, Research, Resources, Uncategorized, Web Sites and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to East Prussian Websites

  1. Susanna B says:

    Thank you for posting this. I have finally figured out what Prussian district my mother’s family was (Kreis Insterburg).

Leave a comment